Home >> Tata Institute of Social Sciences


Tata Institute of Social Sciences

The Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS) was established in 1936, as Sir Dorabji Tata Graduate School of Social Work. Its establishment was the result of the decision of the Trustees of the Sir Dorabji Tata Trust to accept Dr. Clifford Manshardt's vision of a post-graduate school of social work of national stature that would engage in a continuous study of Indian social issues and problems, and impart education in social work to meet the emerging need for trained human resources.

In 1944, the Sir Dorabji Tata Graduate School of Social Work was renamed as the Tata Institute of Social Sciences. The year 1964 was an important landmark in the history of the Institute, when it was recognised as a Deemed University by the Government of India (GoI). Since then, the TISS has been expanding continuously in terms of educational programmes and infrastructure. While responding to the changing needs of the social and educational system in the country, the Institute has gone far beyond the initial concern of social work education.

Since its inception in 1936, the TISS has consistently worked for the promotion of sustainable, equitable and participatory development, social welfare and social justice through value-based professional education in social work, human resources management, health administration, hospital administration, disaster management and other human service professions, social research and dissemination of socially relevant knowledge, social intervention through training and field action projects, contribution to social and welfare policy and programme formulation at the state, national and international levels and professional response to natural and human-made disasters, through relief, rehabilitation and disaster management.
Our association

Smile Foundation has started an annual scholarship programme for post graduate students of TATA Institute of Social Sciences (TISS), Mumbai for research in social work. The scholarships will be given to 10 most meritorious students every year starting from the 2008-09 session. The scholarship programme is a token endeavour in nurturing the best talents for the development sector by becoming a partner in the legacy of TISS.